Food Hygiene/Food Safety Training Course

Food Safety

The Food Safety Authority of Ireland is the single, regulatory authority with responsibility for the enforcement of food safety legislation in Ireland.

Hazard Analysis And Critical Control Points (HACCP)

  • 1. Food business operators shall put in place, implement and maintain a permanent procedure or procedures based on the HACCP principles.
  • 2. The HACCP principles referred to in paragraph 1 consist of the following:
    (a) identifying any hazards that must be prevented, eliminated or reduced to acceptable levels;
    (b) identifying the critical control points at the step or steps at which control is essential to prevent or eliminate a hazard or to reduce it to acceptable levels;
    (c) establishing critical limits at critical control points which separate acceptability from unacceptability for the prevention, elimination or reduction of identified hazards;
    (d) establishing and implementing effective monitoring procedures at critical control points;
    (e) establishing corrective actions when monitoring indicates that a critical control point is not under control;
    (f) establishing procedures, which shall be carried out regularly, to verify that the measures outlined in subparagraphs (a) to (e) are working effectively; and
    (g) establishing documents and records commensurate with the nature and size of the food business to demonstrate the effective application of the measures outlined in subparagraphs (a) to (f).

When any modification is made in the product, process, or any step, food business operators shall review the procedure and make the necessary changes to it.

Regulation (EC) 852/2004 that all food handlers undertake food safety training commensurate to their duties.

Primary Food Hygiene Course Content

The Course Consists Of:

  • 1. Food Hygiene Awareness
  • 2. Food Delivery & Food Storage
  • 3. Food preparation, cooking and hot holding
  • 4. Personal hygiene and good hygiene practices
  • 5. Cleaning awareness and Pest Control
  • 6. HACCP awareness and monitoring requirements

Primary Food Hygiene Course Certification

On completion of the course successful participants will be awarded a Certificate in Primary Food Hygiene (FSAI Level 2) which is valid for 3 years.